Friday, July 22, 2011

Hall of Fame Weekend!

This is always one of my favorite times of the year. It is Hall of Fame weekend as Baseball's greatest descend on Cooperstown for the annual Induction Ceremony. I've only had the pleasure of visiting the Baseball Mecca once and, fortunately, it was during the 1999 Induction of Robin Yount, George Brett and Nolan Ryan. It was just awesome and I recommend every Baseball fan try to make it out here once in their lives. For this weekend, I'll have to enjoy the ceremony from the comforts of my own couch. Thankfully, the MLB Network will be bringing the festivities to us.

Here is the schedule of events for this coming Sunday.

8:30 AM PST-
MLB Network will air the 2011 Hall of Fame Awards Presentation at 11:30 a.m. ET. The presentation, which will be held on Saturday, June 23 in Cooperstown, will honor longtime Montreal Expos and Florida Marlins announcer Dave Van Horne, who will receive the Ford C. Frick Award for major contributions to baseball broadcasting; Philadelphia Daily News national baseball columnist Bill Conlin, who will receive the J.G. Taylor Spink Award; and veteran baseball executive Roland Hemond, who will receive the Buck O'Neil Lifetime Achievement Award.
9:30 AM PST-

Coverage will begin at 12:30 p.m. ET with a pre-ceremony show live from MLB Network’s studios, hosted by Greg Amsinger and Baseball Writers’ Association of America members and Hall of Fame voters Ken Rosenthal and Tom Verducci. The pre-ceremony show will include interviews by Bob Costas with Alomar, Blyleven and Gillick, live interviews with guests on-site, and highlights from the Hall of Fame Parade of Legends.

MLB Network’s Peter Gammons, winner of the 2004
J.G. Taylor Spink Award for baseball writing, Harold Reynolds and Matt Vasgersian will join with live coverage from Cooperstown, including interviews with Hall of Famers in attendance and special features on this year’s inductees.

10:30 AM PST-
Live coverage of the ceremony will begin at 1:30 p.m. ET, including each inductee’s acceptance speech, an appearance by Baseball Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig, and introductions of an expected 49 returning Hall of Famers, including Hank Aaron, George Brett and Sandy Koufax.
Enjoy and don't miss the show.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...