Thursday, October 20, 2011

Just Further Affirmation- Kershaw Was Best Lefty

Clayton Kershaw has been named the 2011 winner of The Warren Spahn Award given to the best left handed pitcher of the year. From the press release:
The Spahn Award is presented annually to the best left-handed pitcher in Major League Baseball and is based on a pitcher’s wins, strikeouts and earned run average. Kershaw led in all categories with 21 wins, 248 strikeouts and a 2.28 ERA.

“It is a genuine honor to have my named mentioned alongside one of the greatest lefties in the history of the game,” Kershaw said. “Mr. Spahn accomplished so much both in baseball and in his life off the field. I am truly humbled by this award. Thank you.”

Greg Spahn, son of the late Warren Spahn, said this is the first time an award winner has placed first in every category since Randy Johnson won in the late 1990s.

“Congratulations to Clayton Kershaw on an incredible season, leading all lefties with a 2.28 ERA,” Spahn said. “In fact, he led in each category of the Warren Spahn Award, with the Dodgers a third place club in the National League West. I look forward to handing him the award.”
The award ceremony will be in January in Oklahoma. Go to the following website for more information on this award- The Warren Spahn Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...