Thursday, November 17, 2011

And the Cy Young Winner Is... You Know

We can now rejoice in the magical year Clayton Kershaw had last season with a just reward. He has been declared the winner of the 2011 Cy Young Award, and I'm sure it will be one of many that he will collect over his career. Here are the official results, via the BBWAA website.That looks like a solid win. On an aside, I'd like to know what idiot picked Ian Kennedy as the 1st place winner. Halladay, I can understand, but Kennedy? Anyway, this is from the BBWAA:

Los Angeles Dodgers lefthander Clayton Kershaw, a Triple Crown of pitching winner with league-best totals of victories (21), earned-run average (2.28) and strikeouts (248), won the National League Cy Young Award in balloting by the BBWAA.

Kershaw, at 23 the youngest Cy Young Award winner since 20-year-old Dwight Gooden of the New York Mets in 1985, was named first on 27 of the 32 ballots, cast by two writers in each NL city. Kershaw was second on three ballots and third on two, to score 207 points, based on a tabulation system that rewards seven points for first place, four for second, three for third, two for fourth and one for fifth. Kershaw, who ended the season with an eight-game winning streak, had five complete games and limited opponents to a league-low .207 batting average.

This is the 10th time a Dodger has won the award.

He joins three-time winner Sandy Koufax, Don Newcombe, Don Drysdale, Mike Marshall, Fernando Valenzuela, Orel Hershiser and Eric Gagne.

Kershaw had this to say, per a Dodgers press release:
“I'm extremely thankful and humbled by this award,” said Kershaw. “The company that I'm in now... just to be mentioned with some of those guys. I'm just in awe. I never thought I'd be here.

(Pic Link of Kershaw: Jon SooHoo/Dodgers)

For your viewing pleasure, below are some highlights from last season, via the Dodgers

Video Link:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...