Monday, December 03, 2012

Hall of Fame Pre-Integration Era Committee Chooses 3 more Hall Members- Dodgers Bill Dahlen Passed Over

The Hall of Fame Pre-Integration Era Committee released their selection for 2013, and it includes an umpire, a Yankee and a Red Sox.  That figures.

Per a story at the Hall of Fame (click on any of the names for the Hall of Fame's biography of the person):
Umpire Hank O’Day, Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th Century catcher/third baseman Deacon White have been elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Pre-Integration Era Committee, it was announced today.
Of special note, former Brooklyn infielder and 19th Century star "Bad Bill" Dahlen just missed entrance by two measly votes- TWO!  Below is the final tally.
Results of the Pre-Integration Era Ballot (12 votes needed for election): Jacob Ruppert (15 votes, 93.8%); Hank O’Day (15 votes, 93.8%); Deacon White (14 votes, 87.5%); Bill Dahlen (10 votes, 62.5%); Sam Breadon, Wes Ferrell, Marty Marion, Tony Mullane, Alfred Reach and Bucky Walters each received three votes or less.
I'm a bit disappointed that Dahlen did not gain entry into the Hall.  Nevertheless, I'm happy to hear that Deacon White made it in, as well as, Hank O'Day.  O'Day made the crucial call on Merkle's Boner.  Jacob Ruppert built the foundation that made the Yankees into the powerhouse franchise that they would become.  So, he deserved a special place in the Hall, as well as the disdain of every Baseball fan who hates the Yankees.

* Please follow on twitter @ernestreyes *
* Dodgers Blue Heaven home page *

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...